Liturgical Seasons

Our Christian year is divided into liturgical seasons, which help us to experience the stories of our faith, through the anticipation of Christ's coming, his birth, life, ministry, death and resurrection and the gift of the Holy Spirit to empower us to minister as Jesus taught. We use the Revised Common Lectionary, a three year cycle of scripture selections, and particular colors in worship help us to differentiate the seasons and proclaim God's word each week.

Learn more about each season and our special worship services during those seasons.


Advent is a season of spiritual preparation for the celebration of the birth of Christ (Christmas) and looks forward to the future reign of Christ. Eschatological expectation rather than personal penitence is the central theme of the season. Advent is a preparation for rather than a celebration of Christmas, so Advent hymns should be sung instead of Christmas carols. The first Sunday of Advent is not the beginning of the Christmas season. The Christmas celebration begins on Christmas Eve and continues for the next "twelve days of Christmas" ... [ more ]

Christmas & Epiphany

The Lectionary readings for Christmas and the following twelve days (culminating in the feast of the Epiphany) invite the church to reflect on the Incarnation (or embodiment) of God as a human being: "The Word became a human being and lived among us, and we have seen his glory...." (John 1:14). In Christ, God enters human history and identifies fully with the human condition ... [ more ]

Beginning of Ordinary Time

This season, also called "Time of the Church" begins on the Sunday after Epiphany. It explores the mission of the church and uses the color of Green, symbolizing growth. During this season, the Lectionary offers two options for readings ... [ more ]

Lent & Holy Week

The traditions of Lent are derived from the season's origin as a time when the church prepared candidates, or "catechumens," for their baptism into the Body of Christ. It eventually became a season of preparation not only for catechumens but also for the whole congregation. Self-examination, study, fasting, prayer and works of love are disciplines historically associated with Lent. Conversion—literally, the "turning around" or reorientation of our lives towards God ... [ more ]


Instead of finding a sealed tomb, the women who had come at dawn on Sunday are surprised by an angel who announces astonishing news: "Jesus has been raised from the dead" (Matt. 28:7). The heavenly messenger invites the mourners to see the empty tomb and then go and tell the disciples that the Crucified One is alive! ... [ more ]


The season from Easter to Pentecost is also called the Great Fifty Days, a tradition inspired by the Jewish season of fifty days between Passover and Shavuot - the feast celebrating the giving of the Torah to Moses.

The liturgical color for this season is celebratory White or Gold. When the season ends on Pentecost Sunday, White is replaced with Red. [ more ]

Continuation of Ordinary Time

After Pentacost the "Time of the Church" continues to explore the mission of the church, picking up where it left of at the start of Lent ... [ more ]

Top ] [ Back ]